Jobs created in Handshake (with no applicants) can be deleted entirely. Once deleted, the job data cannot be retrieved, so deletion is only recommended in cases where you will not need the job in the future. An example of this could be if a job was created but never posted to any institutions.
Expiring a job is the recommended workflow in the following cases:
- if you'd like to retain the job data and remove the job from your immediate view
- if the job posting has at least one applicant
Learn how to Expire a Job Posting.
To delete a job, follow the steps below.
1. Click Jobs from the left navigation bar and use the page view filters as needed to update the list. Double-check the Applicants count to ensure there are no applicants, then click on the job title you wish to delete.
2. On the posting page, click the grey button Edit in the upper-right corner of the page.
3. The edit page will load with the Delete option is located in the lower-right corner, above Save. Click on Delete to proceed.
4. A popup will appear prompting you to confirm deletion "Are you sure you want to delete this job? This action is irreversible!" Click Confirm to proceed.
Reminder: Once you click Confirm, the job is fully deleted and there is no way to bring it back.
The page will refresh and load the Jobs page. The job you deleted may be displayed momentarily as the deletion is processed, so we recommend refreshing the page after a few minutes to confirm removal.
Troubleshooting Tip: If you try to delete a job posting that has applicants, an error will appear in the lower-right corner that reads "Jobs that students have already applied to cannot be deleted. The job can be expired if you don't want students to see it anymore."