When a student requests an appointment, you can decline the appointment. If an appointment is already set up with a student, the appointment can be cancelled. This article will help explain what happens when an appointment is declined or cancelled.
When an appointment is declined, the student will be sent an email and an in-app notification about the decline.
In-app notification example:
When an appointment is cancelled, the student will be sent an email, a notification, and a message in Handshake regarding the cancellation.
The cancellation message will be sent after going to the specific appointment, and clicking on Cancel Appointment, as shown below.
A pop up will appear after clicking Cancel Appointment. Add a custom subject line if preferred and a message to send to the student, informing them that their appointment has been cancelled.
Click the blue button Send to proceed.
You can confirm when the message in Handshake is sent by clicking on the message bubbles icon in the upper-right corner of the screen.
Click on the dropdown arrow next to Inbox and select Sent. This will show the message that was sent to the student when their appointment was cancelled.