Student profiles are automatically set to private. Students must opt-in for the profile to be seen by employers that are approved by their university. Additionally, those with private profiles will not be seen in employer searches. Students can use all features of Handshake, including applying to jobs and scheduling appointments, without making their profile public.
When a student first creates a Handshake account, they can choose to make their profile visible to Community, to Employers only, or private, and they can change their profile visibility settings at any time through their User Dashboard.
- Community: This option will give you access to Peer Messaging! Choosing Community will make you visible to other students and alumni across all Handshake institutions, as well as to employers approved by your institution.
- Employers: This option will make you visible to employers approved by your institution. You will not have access to Peer Messaging.
- Private: Choosing this option means that you are not visible to other students, alumni, or employers. You still have access to Handshake jobs and to other resources provided by your institution.
If a student would like to increase their visibility to employers, they should fill out their profile completely, and also make it public (and thus viewable to employers). This way, university-approved employers can search and contact students that have made their profile public.