This resource will help you understand how to use the Notes tool as well as how Note privacy works.
Within Handshake, you can add Notes to certain items. These include:
When creating notes, please be aware that only career services staff will see the note; it can never be visible to employers or students, unless they also have a career services staff account at your institution with the necessary permission.
1. Click the blue button View & Add Notes on the desired item (student profile, event, etc.)
2. Enter the following:
- Note content in the Add a Note... text box.
- Attachment: click Choose File to add a file.
- Set a Reminder if you'd like a notification from Handshake to remind you of the note
- Select desired note privacy
3. Click the blue Add Note button when you're ready to save the note.
Once a note has been created, only the original creator will be able to edit the note content.
When creating a note, you are able to select who is allowed to view the note:
- Personal/Private: only you, the creator, will see the note. The note will not be included in any reporting (Analytics or Quick Downloads).
- Share with Staff: this will share the note with all Career Services staff that have the "Show Private Notes By Staff" permission, and the note data (creation date and time plus content) can be included in reporting.
- NEW!! Share with "Career Centre Name": only other users connected to your career centre will see the note.
- Note: This option will only appear if your institution has more than one career centre configured.
- You must be connected to the career centre in order to select the career centre or view related notes. You can adjust your career centre connections in User Settings > Personal Information > Career Centres.