Invite colleagues to create an account and join your company profile on Handshake using a unique invite link.
Inviting staff members
1. Click your name in the upper-right corner of the page, then select Teammates from the dropdown.
2. Click the gray Copy Invite Link button in the upper-right corner of the page.
3. Copy and share the invite link.
On-campus, Basic, and Pro employers
In the pop-up window, copy the invite link and share it with your colleague(s).
Essentials and Enterprise customers
In the pop-up window, select the appropriate role for the user(s) from the dropdown, then copy the invite link and share it with your colleague(s).
The invitation link is valid for 48 hours. After it expires, a new link must be generated and sent.
When your colleague uses the link, they will be automatically connected to your company with the assigned role.
If your colleague cannot use the invitation link
If your colleague clicks the invitation link and encounters a permission error or cannot complete signup, they may already have a Handshake account.
If they already have an employer account
Connected to another company
If they do not intend to remain with that company, they should disconnect from that company profile and then request to join the company they intend to join.
To stay connected to their current company while joining a new one, they must create a separate employer account using an email address with the domain of the company they want to join.
Pending approval at another company
If they have a pending request to join another company, they must cancel that request first. Once canceled, they can submit a new request to join their intended company.
Not connected to any company
If they have an employer account but are not connected to a company profile, they should log in and request to join the appropriate company.
For on-campus employers adding a former or current student
If you are an on-campus employer, a current or former student with an existing student account will encounter a permission error if they try to use an invitation link while still logged in to that account.
To resolve this, ask the student to do one of the following:
- Log out of the student account, then open the invitation link again.
- If the browser automatically logs them back into the student account, open the link in a private or incognito browser window instead.
Alternatively, you can manually add the person to the account instead of having them use the invitation link. For instructions, refer to How to Manually Add Teammates to your Company's Profile.