If your school has partnered with Handshake, you should contact your school's Career Center directly to request your Handshake account be deleted.
Most partner institutions sync data from their student information system to Handshake as a service provider. When an account is deleted from Handshake, but not updated in the student information system, the next time the institution runs the sync, the account will be re-created (but defaulted to an unactivated account: fully private and not shared with anyone).
Students may also work with Handshake's Support Team to request deletion using the process below.
1. Submit a ticket indicating you'd like your account to be deleted.
2. When the request is received, our team will respond to acknowledge the request and confirm intent to delete the account.**
3. Once you confirm you'd like to delete the account, our team will confirm applicable Data Privacy Rights. After a short processing period, we remove all personal and identifying data from the profile, search results, and user directories, then archive it within our system, unless required otherwise by your institution (if they've partnered with us).
Note: To confirm your account information does not re-sync, we recommend to followup with your school's Career Services center and request they remove your information from their student sync.
**Our team may first attempt to help you update your account settings to accommodate common concerns resulting in deletion requests –– providing these steps enables you to still enjoy the benefits of a Handshake account. Some common concerns and corresponding resources are listed below: