Important Note: This is something that only the Owner of the company profile has the ability to perform.
You may also manually add a Teammate by following these steps.
There are two options when approving new users to connect to your company on Handshake:
- You can either manually approve each request as they come in, OR
- You can set Handshake to automatically approve all requests that come from an email address with your domain.
- Please note that auto-approval of staff only works if your company is the only account using your email domain. Companies with multiple company profiles using the same domain cannot use auto-approval of teammates.
To Manually Approve Teammates:
1. Log into Handshake and click on the User Requests icon in the top toolbar of your screen.
2. You'll immediately see a list of teammates waiting for approval to join the company profile. You can toggle between lists of Waiting, Successful, Rejected, Fails, and All requests.
3. Click on the teammate's name to review the details.
IMPORTANT NOTE: If the user's account does not have an email address with a domain that matches with your company's, please proceed with extreme caution.
Alternatively, you can click the three hash marks to the far right of the teammate's name you'd like to approve. A dropdown will populate where you can view the user, view their request, quickly decline their request, or quickly ignore their request.
4. Click on either Approve or Reject to take action on the request. If approved, the user will be automatically notified via email of their account's approval. No email is sent if the user is rejected.
If the teammate's email domain does not match your company's domain, you'll see an error appear:
"PLEASE NOTE: We could not verify that this user's email domain properly matches this company. Please do your due diligence in confirming this user actually belongs at this company and is not a fraudulent user before approving. You should NOT approve this person unless you are sure they legitimately work for this company."
Note: If you reject someone who later needs to be approved, you cannot undo your rejection from this screen. Rather, navigate to the Teammates tab of your Company Settings page and click on the Invite Link button in the upper-right corner of the page. Copy the link that appears and send it to the teammate's email address - when they click the link, they will be automatically approved at your company.